Select Page

RAYMOND KHOURY

“A world-class writer of pure-bred thrillers”

The Telegraph

Sweeping and cinematic… A sort of literary Lee Child.”

The Independent

“Khoury’s thrillers engage the reader’s mind, even as they move at a breakneck pace. Readers who like their thrillers to have a solid intellectual component will enjoy Khoury’s books very much.”

Booklist

From New York Times, Sunday Times and International bestselling author Raymond Khoury comes a sweeping thriller in the tradition of Man in the High Castle, Fatherland and Underground Airlines

Out now in the UK!

The reviews are in…

"The best what-if thriller for a long, long time - makes you think, makes you sweat."

Lee Child

“A masterpiece.”

Steve Berry

“An alternative history tale that will blow your mind.”

David Baldacci

“A tour de force in both storytelling and breadth of concept.”

James Rollins

“Be prepared to be forever impacted, forever changed.”

James Rollins

“Thrilling, disturbing, inspiring, and left me all too often in awe.”

James Rollins

“An intelligent, immersive thriller, as thought-provoking as it is entertaining.”

Brad Meltzer

“A stellar epic, with food for thought on every fascinating page."

Steve Berry

“Alternate history, tons of adventure … this is real fun.”

Brad Meltzer

US – October 1st

The Book

Paris, 2017. The Ottoman Empire stretches from the deserts of Arabia to the English Channel, and the sultan has ruled over Europe for 300 years. 

But these are dangerous times in the empire. Facing threats from within its borders as well as from the distant Christian Republic of America, the tyrannical regime is cracking down hard. Asking too many questions can be a highly risky endeavor. Which is what Special Investigator Kamal Agha, a decorated agent of the sultan’s secret police, is about to find out.

When a naked man covered in tattoos appears on the banks of the Seine and murders a passerby, Kamal is tasked with tracking him down. But the mysterious man’s trail leads Kamal to a secret buried deep in the empire’s past, a secret that goes to the very core of the empire’s supremacy. A secret the sultan and his security services will do anything to silence.

With the state’s mysterious Z Directorate now on his trail, Kamal, together with Nisreen—a bold human rights lawyer, and his sister-in-law—is caught up in a deadly race, one that stretches not only across the empire, but across time itself.

A race that could radically change their world—its future, its present, and even, its past…

The Author

Raymond Khoury is the New York Times, Sunday Times and International bestselling author of seven novels: his debut The Last Templar, The Sanctuary, The Sign, The Devil’s Elixir, Rasputin’s Shadow, and The End Game. His novels have been translated into forty languages and, in the case of The Last Templar, adapted for television. Before writing novels, Raymond was an architect, then an investment banker, then a screenwriter, where his credits include the hit BBC series Spooks and Waking the Dead. His novel The Last Templar was based on an original screenplay he wrote ten years before the book was first published.